Contact Us
Scarsdale Daily Voice serves Hartsdale & Scarsdale
Return to your home site


Scarsdale Daily Voice serves Hartsdale & Scarsdale

Nearby Towns

Breaking News: Man Killed After Car Hits Pole In Fiery Westchester Crash

Edgemont's Aslanian Named Top Division II Wrestler

PURCHASE, N.Y. -- Somers’ Brian Realbuto and Edgemont’s Trey Aslanian received the respective wrestler-of-the-year awards at the All-Section Wrestling Brunch at Doral Arrowood, Sunday. Realbuto was selected the Division I (large school) wrestler of the year after a championship conclusion to his six-year, record-setting career. The Cornell-bound Realbuto compiled a long list of firsts. Realbuto finished with a Section 1-standard of 277 wins. He was a three-time New York State Division I champion, winning the 152-pound title in February, five-time Section 1 Division I titlist and reached a Section 1 Division I final all six years. These are all Section 1 records. Aslanian was named the Division II (small school) wrestler of the year. Aslanian won his third Section 1 title, this year at 113 pounds, and was a state finalist for a second consecutive year. Andy Guccione, who guided North Rockland to a second-place finish in the Section 1 Division I Championships, was chosen the Section 1 coach of the year. The Red Raiders also finished third in the Section 1 Division I Dual-Meet Championships. Two individual awards were presented to Mamaroneck’s Edgar Aguilar (Julius D’Agostino Award) and Carmel’s Vince Pecora (Bill Snyder Award). The Section 1 Wrestling Coaches Association honored retiring coaches Jim Guccione of New Rochelle and Carmel’s Bill Twardy. Guccione began his coaching career at Blessed Sacrament High School where volunteer New Rochelle assistant Paul Williams wrestled. After five years at Blessed Sacrament he went to New Rochelle where he was the coach for 27 years. Twardy was an assistant for 14 years before spending the last 18 years as the head coach. Both coaches were assisted by former Section 1 champions -- Eddie Ortiz at New Rochelle and Seth Harrison at Carmel. The Section 1 Wrestling Hall of Fame welcomed the Class of 2012 -- Hendrick Hudson’s Dan Jurgens, Mount Vernon’s Charles Love and Somers’ Brian Mullaney.

*Denotes Section 1 champion **Denotes State champion #Denotes state place-finisher

Division I Large school

99 -- *#Nick Barbaria (New Rochelle, sixth in state); Kevin Rodriguez (Port Chester); Jon Errico (Byram Hills); Derek DiMarsico (North Rockland); Alfredo Olmedo (Arlington). 106 -- *Mike Parise (Brewster); Blaise Benderoth (North Rockland); Nick Tolli (Arlington); Alex Oliveto (Suffern); Bryan Ferranti (New Rochelle). 113 -- *Alex delaCruz (Ossining); John Muldoon (Pearl River); **Dylan Realbuto (Somers, State Champion); Troy Feniger (North Rockland); Zack Boker (Mahopac). 120 -- *Jake DiMarsico (North Rockland); Adit Thakur (Nyack); Liam Erickson (Brewster); Mark Settembrino (RC Ketcham); Jimmy Kaishian (Yorktown); A.J. Barbaria (New Rochelle). 126 -- *#Sam Speno (Fox Lane, second in the state); Matt Caputo (North Rockland); Juan Pablo Loja (Sleepy Hollow); Tommy Gonska (Brewster); Danny Murphy (R.C. Ketcham). 132 -- *#Danny Ventura (Fox Lane, fifth in the state); John Tambunting (Scarsdale); Colby Kash (Clarkstown North); Luke Minasi (John Jay-East Fishkill); Kevin McDermott (Hen Hud). 138 -- *Tommy Grippi (Fox Lane); Jake Srednicki (Mahopac); Charlie Garcia (Tappan Zee); Max Bachmeier (Mahopac); Christian Wassweiler (Beacon). 145 -- *#Mike Caputo (North Rockland, fourth in the state); Joe Mastro (Yorktown); #Dale White (John Jay-East Fishkill, fifth in the state); Giancarlo Morreale (Fox Lane): Ryan Becker (Clarkstown North). 152 -- *#Brian Realbuto (Somers, State Champion); Kyle McAlpin (Brewster); Brad Marvin (RC Ketcham); Ben Miller (Mamaroneck): Desmond Djekovic (Tappan Zee). 160 -- *#Matt Pasqualini (Fox Lane, fifth in the state); Phil Siegel (Hen Hud); Nick Giella (Suffern); Dion Duran (Mamaroneck); Aaron Gallagher (Mahopac). 170 -- *Steven Sabella (Yorktown); Jack Braun (Scarsdale); Aaron Butler (New Rochelle); Brenden Nunziata (Arlington); Brett Perry (John Jay-East Fishkill). 182 -- *#Jacob Berkowitz (Scarsdale, second in the state); Thomas Murray (Yorktown); Ryan Boyle (North Rockland); Tome Marku (Clarkstown South); Jonathan Stokes (New Rochelle). 195 -- *Mike Spinelli (Mahopac); Scott Wymbs (Horace Greeley); Deondre Pierce (Beacon); Trent Lofaro (Ossining); Paul Okeke (Clarkstown South). 220 -- *#Dom DeVita (Somers, sixth in the state); Tyler Lilly (New Rochelle); Danny Clune (Fox Lane); Bryan Burger (Suffern); Jason Dorsainville (East Ramapo). 285 -- *David Varian (Yorktown); Justin Douglas (New Rochelle); Sean Barry (Hen Hud); Connor Reigotti (North Rockland); Michael Manni (Tappan Zee).

Division II (Small school)

99 -- *Tyler Aslanian (Edgemont); Joe Dillon (Nanuet). 106 -- *Vinny Skokos (Nanuet); Jonah Gerstel (Ardsley). 113 -- *#trey Aslanian (Edgemont, second in the state); Skylar Korek (Edgemont). 120 -- *Anthony Calvano (Nanuet); D.J. Frederich (Croton). 126 -- *Drew Longo (Ardsley); Graham Williamson (Pleasantville). 132 -- *David Occhipinti (Croton); Colin Hopkins (Edgemont). 138 -- *Dean Rogener (Westlake); Matt Dillon (Nanuet). 145 -- *Brett Pastore (Irvington); Jack McCormack (Edgemont). 152 -- *Scott Porter (Pawling); Anthony Gentile (Putnam Valley). 160 -- *Mike Boyle (Dobbs Ferry); Spike Buhrmann (Nanuet). 170 -- *John Messinger (Putnam Valley); Chris Kim (Edgemont). 182 -- *Oliver Mold (Pawling); Kevin Brundage (Nanuet). 195 -- *Dan Breit (Nanuet); Chris Kraft (Croton). 220 -- *Matt Acevedo (Pawling); Christopher Minnozi (Hastings). 285 -- *Obum Anyichie (Pleasantville); Anthony DiNardo (Irvington).

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Scarsdale Daily Voice!

Serves Hartsdale & Scarsdale

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.